For some odd reason the in thing to do with low budget horror movies is to have an established kids characters be the main villain of the film. As while there have now been plenty of horror films where Mickey Mouse has been the main villain the film i'm going to be talking to you all about today sees Minnie Mouse take centre stage and what's worse is that there are horror films in the works for both Pluto and oddly enough Betty Boop of all thing along with several Popeye's Revenge sequels so then join me as I review the film that wants to be like Slaughter High mixed with Scream but with none of the charm to pull it off with the film in question being called simply just "Minnie's Midnight Massacre" enjoy.
The plot of this film is twenty years after leaving classmate to die four friends go to remote house only to find themselves in the fight for there lives when they all start getting killed off one by one. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With the films basic plot being nothing more then a rip off of Slaughter High as both films do have a strikingly similar set up to them with the only difference being the fact that Slaughter High takes place in a high school where as here it's mainly just a random house and that's really it which fair enough is very creative for these types of films as alot of them just have the characters staying at what is basically a cabin in the woods or the house that belongs to someone related to the main character where as there they are just staying at this house just to get away from it all for the weekend. Even so tho this films plot does feel like a very by the book and very by the numbers slasher plot with there being nothing new added to it to make it seem interesting again and while the film does try to do something new by adding in a surprise second killer at the end of the film even that's not enough to make this films plot be anything more then average as all it does is remind you of much more better movies with the plot of this film not really being rather entertaining and nor is it really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.
Starring in this film is Cliff Dean as Will , Indira Starr as Bell , Doug Jeffery as Deputy Crews and Erin Marie Garrett as Honey. Also starring in this film is Mckenna Smith as Young Evie , Kace Winfield as Young Will, one of this films executive producers Derrick Redford as Sheriff Long , Hannah Hueston as Evie , Kinley Moody as Young Bell , Joplyn McDonald as Minnie-Winnie , Kennan Ainsworth as Young Honey and one of this films executive producers Tiffany McDonald as Minnie.
Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. While nobody expects good acting from these types of films the acting in this film is actually alot more better then what it really should have been as while yes this films acting is still pretty bad that was always going to be the case given the fact that's a very low budget horror film and therefore of course the acting in the film was always going to be bad as they mostly likely wouldn't have been able to afford to do a take two. With the films best actor being Indira Starr as Bell as she does come across as being the only actor that's actively trying to turn in a good performance with the rest of the films actors being content with just barely phoning in there performances. With the only other exception maybe being Tiffany McDonald as Minnie which even then it's debatable on if she's good in the movie due to the fact that she doesn't get to do a whole lot in the film despite her being the title character of the film and yet with Indira you can see that she is trying to turn in a good performances she really only needed better writing and actual direction from this films producer , writer and director Brett Bentman and she really would have been able to do exactly that. With the acting that's in this film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it doesn't give any of this films actors absolutely anything to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.
Character wise this film does fair somewhat better then alot of these other horror films do due to the fact that alot of the films characters have a single personality trait each. With both Will and Bell being the nice one of the group , Honey being the groups resident dumb one and Evie being the b*tch of the group with none of the characters straying to far from there given personality trait and while the fact that they do have a personality trait to begin with does make them ten times better then any of the characters from Harry Boxley it still doesn't make them that well done as characters as the film does nothing with it's characters. Due to the fact that the film doesn't doesn't take the time to show us why we should care about any of them as instead it keeps on showing us flashbacks which show that the group minus Will were all bullies to this one kid and all that does is make us hate them even more as they do act pretty mean to this kid and while yes it could be argued that they were only kids and therefore didn't know any better which is something that would be fair enough were it not for the fact that Evie still acts like a bully to this very day with her forcing her friends to do things that they don't want to do all for no good reason therefor why should we care for these characters as they clearly haven't grown up enough. Which does mean that we are just counting down the minuets until they all get killed off and when it does happen we don't find ourself cheering for the heroes and wanting them to survive rather we find ourself cheering for the villain when we should be routing for the characters and wanting to see them survive the film. With the only somewhat likable characters in the whole entire film being both Will and Bell and even then it's more due to the fact that Will was hesitant to take part in the bullying but there is something that happens to his character later on in the film which makes him unlikable and will be something that will be getting discussed in this review.
Every since The Mouse Trap came out it's oddly been a thing for people to turn Mickey Mouse into a horror villain. Yet alot of them this film included fail to take full advantage of that as while this film is being listed as being a horror comedy there's nothing funny said in the film at all in fact there's barely anything scary in this film whereas with The Mouse Trap you could at least make the point that it was the first Mickey Mouse themed horror film and therefor they were will still trying to work out what it is that they could do to make the fact that this famous mouse is now a slasher killer yet the only thing that they had to do was make it a full blown horror comedy. This was something that Screamboat actually got right as it knew right away that no one was going to be taking this film seriously and therefor it just went bulls to the wall with the amount of jokes that it was throwing at you with alot of that films jokes being about Disney itself and it's the fact that that film embraced the fact that it was a silly film with a silly idea that made it work so well in the first place and yet with this film they try and find a balance between both Screamboat and The Mouse Trap by having these moments that are meant to be funny when the characters are drunk and off set that with these more serious moments like when a grown up Bell and Will are talking about what happened twenty years ago and how it's still effecting them and yet it just doesn't work as this is a film that should be silly and that should be played for laughs as the very idea of having a beloved cartoon character be the main villain of the film is on it's self a very dumb idea and is not one that requires a super serious film in order for it to work. Whilst yes the Blood And Honey films are super serious films they also have alot of creative and fun kills that balance that out and yet in this film they don't do any of that as the makers of this film only made this film as quick cash grab and not because they wanted to make a genuinely good film.
To make matters for this film they do try to have a mystery over who the killer of the film is yet they outright tell us who it's going to be in the opening scene of the film. With the rest of the film being the characters wondering if the person that they left in this storm shelter yet has disappeared for two decades is the one killing them this is where the film felt more dumb as if you want to have a mystery over who the killer is then fine do that just give us clues as to who the killer is and don't show the main characters in a negative light in flashbacks or if you want to do something that's more akin to Slaughter High where the characters no full well who the killer is and try to appeal to them then fine do that just don't have a mystery. Yet this film tries do to both and it just doesn't work as we the audience know full well who the killer of the film and therefor we spend the entirety of the film ahead of the characters interms of what information that they no and all that does is take all the fun out of it as there is a good mystery to be had here and it is something that would have been good if the makers of the film hadn't had the literal opening scene of the movie after the opening credits out right tell us who the main killer of the film is as then we could have been wondering not only who it is but also what there motives are. With that being something that could have made the film have this rewatch value to it as then we would have a reason to keep on coming back to this film to see if there was any missed clues that would have told us who the killer of the film was and yet by trying to have it both ways where the killer is revealed early on but the characters don't know who it is all that does is make the characters seem even more dumb then what they already are in the first place.
This film does try to do something that not alot of these types of horror films have tried to do that being to have a surprise second villain. Which in of it itself is a really good idea as the film does make Will Minnie's helper in a surprise third act twist however the film never takes the time to explain not only why Will is helping to kill his friends of over twenty years but also how he managed to not only get Winnie as she was then known out of the shelter and also keep in touch with her for a large amount of time with none of this being helped by the fact that it does go against how Will was portrayed in the rest of the film as all throughout the rest of the film he written as the groups big brother and someone who would always want to protect his friends and yet just for the sake of having a twist ending the makers of this film have him turn on and kill Bell. With much like Winnie putting on a mouse mask and changing his name to Willie all of which does make this twist hard to buy into as all throughout the rest of the film we don't get to see ant hint of the fact that Will might not be as sane as he's letting on therefor it does seem out of place when they do pull of this twist whereas if the makers of this film did take the time to show us the fact that Will might be more insane then what he's letting on either with a glance or even by having him not be attacked by Minnie it would have been more then enough to let us know that there's something up with his character but in saying this tho having be attacked by Minnie is something that does do a good enough job of throwing us of the fact that there might be a second villain. However it's the small things that do make the big thanks not add up as they could have had him dress up as a mouse and kill some people in the film even if we didn't know that it was hi at that point in time.
Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and fifteen minuets and twenty three seconds. With this films running time being a huge issue for the film as while the film does have more then enough plot there to cover that amount of running time the film also takes up to the thirty to thirty eight minuet mark to give us it's first kill which if the film was closer to two hours maybe one hour and thirty minuets wouldn't be an issue yet given it's current running time they needed to start getting to the kills by at the most the ten minuet mark with the film not even using it's running time all that wisely either as the film doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot. As the film is alot more focused on giving us repeats of the same flashback over and over again when having it play once maybe two or three times would have bee more then enough yet the film plays parts of it at every single chance that it gets and all that does is eat up screen time that would have been better spent of further developing it's plot yet as they don't do that we are left with a plot that feels as one dimensional as it's characters. As the films characters as is to be expected in one of these horrors films don't get any kind of character development and given just how quickly that these films are made and released in that is something that's to be expected and to this films credit it's not really as bad with the lack of character development as the other films like this are as the film does try to have scene where the characters talk about what happened in the past the issue is tho is that none of that effects the rest of the plot with none of the characters clearly having learned nothing from what they did as kids which makes Will and Bell talking about it seem pointless but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.
So now then as this is a slasher film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought . felt that the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty OK at best. This film does commit the biggest sin that any slasher film could commit and that's the fact that not only do we have to wait an awfully long time to get to the first kill of the film but also when we do get to kills we barely get to see any of them as alot of them happen just off screen with the few that happen on screen being at best OK which does make it feel like that the makers of this film were to afraid to make a slasher film and therefore instead chose to d the absolute bare minimum when it comes to this films kills. At a push i'd say that the best kill in this film is when Minnie slices the ankles of Sheriff Long and then beats him to death but even then alot of that kill happens of screen and while that might be OK for a thriller of a psychological horror film as there your going more for the tension then anything else where as with a slasher film your going to see the kills and therefor we do want to see how the characters died and we want to see alot of the blows that killed them and yet the makers of this film thought that we dont want to see the films kills. Granted there might be a reason for why they didn't show us the kills in this film like maybe they just didn't have the money for the effects t make them to look good which s fair enough but at the same time they spend alot of time in showing us computer generate mice when we don't need to see them just take the money that was used to bring those mice to live and put it towards effects that would make the films kills look good that's all you'd have to do and that is something that would make this film alot more fun to watch in the process in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.
Overall no matter how bad this film is it's not even close to being as bad as The Mouse Trap was as that film was just awful and while there is a good chance that Betty's Revenge or any of the THREE Popeye's Revenge sequels that we're getting year might be bad one things for certain this film is a waste of a good idea as the idea of having Minnie Mouse be the main villain of a slasher film is a good idea it just needed a better film making team to bring it to live is all in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.
Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very revie well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Tenor , Amazon . Co . Uk and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images from this film being Google Images simply because Google Images actually has images from this film really are up and on Google Images and plus pretty much much all of the images that I personally found on Google Images were all really very fairly high quality and as well as being as really very fairly high definition as well and so then horror fans we end this review as we always do with really our one and true goddess Elvira wishing us all some really very unpleasant dreams.



































