Friday, 27 March 2026

Ready Or Not 2: Here I Come Film Review



Horror sequels much like regular sequels are very much a mixed bag as when they are done right we get films like Friday The 13th Part 2 but when there done wrong we get films like Scream 3. As a sequel has to find a way to progress the story of the first film but do so in a new and interesting way and well we have another new horror sequel out and while most horror films only get a sequel if their a mainstream success this film is actually a sequel to a film that is borderline a cult hit film and so then join me as I review the film that quite literally tells you it's coming for you with the film in question being called simply just "Ready Or Not 2: Here I Come" enjoy.

The plot of this film is right after te events of the first film Grace now joined by her relucent sister Faith finds herself a new game of hide and seek and has to survive as several dozen people now want her and her sister dead. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With the films plot doing everything that a good sequel plot should do in that it not only advances the plot of the previous film but it also ups the stakes to the point where it justifies this sequel being made as just by going off the end of the first film it would have been very easy to write this franchise off as being a one and done and yet the makers of this film found a way to continue Grace's story in a way that feels natural. However tho this films plot does feel like it's on repeat mode alot of the time tho due to the fact that it does feel like it's just copying elements from the first film like for example both films have Grace where her wedding dress which made sense in the first film as the film was set directly after her wedding and yet here she wears it for no good reason and heck the characters even play the exact same game when it would have been more fun and interesting to see them do a twist on another kids game. While on the flip side of this is the fact that the films plot is so good due to the face that the original films writers came back with them brining the same flair that they brought to the first film with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is one of this films executive producers Samara Weaving as Grace MacCaullay and Kathryn Newton as Faith MacCaullay. Also starring in this film is Sarah Michelle Gellar as Ursula Danforth , Shawn Hatosy as Titus Danforth , Elijah Wood as The Lawyer , NĂ©stor Carbonell as Ignacio El Caido , Kevin Durand as Bill Wilkinson , Olivia Cheng as Wan Chen Xing , Varun Saranga as Madhu Rajan , Nadeem Umar-Khitab as Viraj Rajan , Juan Pablo Romero as Felipe El Caido , Masa Lizdek as Martina Rajan , Maia Jae as Francesca El Caido , Dan Beirne as Kip Danforth , Antony Hall as Wan Cheng Fu , one of this films producers James Vanderbilt as Mr. Le Bail and David Cronenberg as Chester Danforth.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. The films acting in this film is really good and as is more then on par with the acting that we got in the first film with this mainly due to the fact that we have a bunch of really good actors in this film alot of whom have been really good in other films all of which is helped by the fact that this films directors Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett really do know not only how to cast good actors for there films but also how to direct them to get these good performances out of them in the first place which is a skill that so few directors seem to have these days. With the best actor in the whole entire film being Samara Weaving as Grace MacCaullay as not only is she the only returning actor from the previous film but she also does alot of the heavy lifting for the film from an acting point of view with alot of the scenes between her and Kathryn Newton being made slightly better due to the fact that she has played Grace before now and therefor does have this better understanding of the character then what any of the fans of the first film will have and therefore she is able to give a performance that does suit her character down to the ground. With the acting that's in this very film really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Much like with the first film this film does have some really good and well written characters in it with them all coming across as being fully formed characters. With Grace kind of feeling the same as she id did in the first film as for understandable reasons she's not as fun loving as she was in the first film with her now taking a more proactive role in the game which is something that does make alot of sense as out of herself and Faith she is the only one that's played a game like this before now and therefore she would no exactly what to do in this kind of situation and to the films credit she is handled really well as while she does retain her snarkyness from the first film there's also a hint of trauma in there as well. Even the films newer characters do feel partly well done with Faith being a character that hasn't seen Grace for many years and therefore doesn't want to follow her advice which is something that does make her a somewhat naive character however tho where film does somewhat start to faulter is with the family members as alot of them do feel like carbon copies of the family members from the first film with Ursula being Charity and Titus good as well as being Daniel mixed in with Emilie as both he and Ursula are brother and sister with her being the brains of the operation and him being the lovable somewhat dumb but also crazy psycho one of the two which I guess makes him an interesting character but at the same time tho the film doesn't really do all that much with either character to make them feel justified and the rest of the other family members are just there to be killed off as they add nothing to the plot of the film say what you will about the housing staff in the first film but they at least added small little things to the plot of that film whereas here nothing is added with the rest of the family members.


Without giving away to much of what happens in this film this film does introduce a clause where the game is stopped and Grace gets declared the winner if she marries someone. Which would be a good idea where it not for the fact that the whole opening of the first film revolved around her marrying someone therefor by the game's own rules that entire first film shouldn't have happened granted the makers of this film wouldn't have thought of that when they were making the first film but it is something that should have been taken into account when they were making this film as by adding in that one clause they've made the entire first film pointless as now we the audience are now left wondering why the first film even happened in the first place. Granted this isn't a major issue with the film as the plot of the first film or this film for that matter isn't that much effected by that rule now being added to the lore but it is something that makes you wonder why the game in the first film was even played in the first place as they never say that this clause is just for hide and seek or is just for this game which would have been a great workaround as then you could argue that all of the games have their own sets of rules to them which would have been fair enough and it would have made this small continuity issue go away and yet they don't do that. With this being something that makes it obvious that the rule was only now said to us because of the fact that it sets up something else for later on in the film which again is fair enough but you don't need to tear down your own previous film in order to do that as they could have found a really creative way for them to have that rule in the first film and not have it effect the first film at all.

Like the first film ultimately ended up doing this film is being a modest hit at the box office as even tho this film cost around $14 million to make it has so far earned $14.5 million dollars. Which given that the first film earned around $57.6 million on a budget of $6 million dollars isn't a bad thing as these films much like alot of horror films aren't huge money makers with this being something that people on X just can't wrap there heads around as there thinking that this film should be making Scream 7 levels of money just based on the fact that the directors of Scream 5 and Scream VI are making this film when all you have to do is look at the numbers for the first film and compare them to this film to see that these Ready Or Not films as good as they are aren't the type of films that make big money at the box office yet this film as of this Wednesday is actually placing higher the Scream 7. Also like the first film this film does have a good balance between horror and comedy with the film knowing when it should be scary with the film having alot of painfully funny jokes like for example Grace always corrects people when they say that her last name is Le Domas even when she's gagged which is really funny and yet there's a joke that's even better then that as there is scene near the end of the films second act and the song that they play over it is "Total Eclipse Of The Heart" and how they edit that scene with that song just makes the whole thing even more funnier and heck while people will be tempted to say that the ending scene is the most fun scene in the film for me it's easily this scene just due to how well done it is with that song playing over it.


Much like alot of Radio Silence's film there is something truly emotional at the core of this film which in this case is the sisterly bon between Grace and Faith. Whilst it would be impossible to go that much into this part of the film without giving away major spoilers what can be said is that while it does feel very much like a retread of the Sam and Tara arc from Scream 5 here there is enough of a twist put on it to make it seem new and to the films credit they do use that part of the film to fully explain why Faith wasn't even mentioned in the first film which is something that they really didn't have to do but the fact that it was included in this way is something that does show you that the makers of this film do fully respect there audience. However tho it would have been nice if we got to see more of Faith and Grace learning to trust each other once again as all throughout the film Faith does almost fully trust Grace and while we the audience do understand what Grave has been through due to the first film from a character standpoint Faith hasn't done any of that and therefor it would have made there journey be all the more interesting if we saw Faith openly fight with Grace during the game as that is something that realistically her character would indeed do and yet she doesn't do and instead just blindly trusts Grace. OK fair enough Grace is her sister and therefore she will of course always trust her on some level but given the fact that there arc for the film is getting over something that Grace did to her in there past it doesn't totally make sense for her to be this trusting of Grace however the scenes where they are playfully arguing with each other does make there bond seem all the more real and it wouldn't be that surprising if both Samara and Kathryn ended up being good friends after making this film as they do seem like they had a good time with each other.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and forty three minuets and fifty seconds. Which to be fair is decent enough running time for this film to have and given the fact that the first film did have a pretty similar running time as well it does say that these films can work with that short amount of running time and heck this film does have more then enough plot to cover that amount of running time with the film not really using it's running time all that wisely due to the fact that the film doesn't make the time to fully develop it's plot as the film seems to be more focused on not only added rules to the game but also in getting all of the other characters involved in the game then it is in giving us a more fully developed plot. This is something that does kind of effect the films character development as while both Grace and Faith and a much more lesser extent Ursula not one of this films characters get any kind of character developed with this being something that does make them feel like one dimensional characters and while the family members in the first film aren't that well developed either it could be argued that that was only done due to the fact that the makers of the film were still trying to wok out how to include the game to it's fullest extent and therefor they had to cut corners somewhere in the film and yet here they already know how to do that and yet they still don't take the time to give alot of the characters some character development even Grace who it could argued doesn't need character development due to being the main character of the first film still manages to get some in this film but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a horror film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. If you thought that the film wouldn't be able to top all of the crazy and insane kills that they did in the first film then be pared to be let down down as they do more then match the kills that they did in the film with this film giving us alot of really creative and at time gut bustingly funny ways all of which do make this films kills more then worth watching on there own as this is the only franchise where we do get to see these kinds of fun and funny kills. With the best kill in the whole entire film not being one that's going to be getting spoiled but all that I will say is that it happens in a pit during the films third act and if you've seen the film you'll know exactly what kill it is that i'm talking about as that kill is just so much fun to see with it giving us all of the shocks and gore that these films are known for having whilst at the same time kind of securing that there can't be a third film yet the rest of the film does have some really good kills with the films main golf course setting pretty much saying that the characters can die at any time and while the film doesn't take full advantage of that it does show you just how the makers of this film are more then willing to up the stakes with the only good kill technically on the golf course being being when Grace shots someone at point blank range with a shotgun with the rest of the films kills being just as fun and as over the top as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall while it is hard to say just which of these two films that people will like more as both of them do have alot of things both going for and working against them what can be said tho is that this film more then deservers all of the praise that it's been getting as it is just that good of a film in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Tenor , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images from this film being Google Images simply because Google Images actually has images from this film really are up and on Google Images and plus pretty much much all of the images that I personally found on Google Images were all really very fairly high quality and as well as being as really very fairly high definition as well and so then horror fans we end this review as we always do with really our one and true goddess Elvira wishing us all some really very unpleasant dreams.

Thursday, 26 March 2026

Minnie's Midnight Massacre Film Review



For some odd reason the in thing to do with low budget horror movies is to have an established kids characters be the main villain of the film. As while there have now been plenty of horror films where Mickey Mouse has been the main villain the film i'm going to be talking to you all about today sees Minnie Mouse take centre stage and what's worse is that there are horror films in the works for both Pluto and oddly enough Betty Boop of all thing along with several Popeye's Revenge sequels so then join me as I review the film that wants to be like Slaughter High mixed with Scream but with none of the charm to pull it off with the film in question being called simply just "Minnie's Midnight Massacre" enjoy.

The plot of this film is twenty years after leaving classmate to die four friends go to remote house only to find themselves in the fight for there lives when they all start getting killed off one by one. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With the films basic plot being nothing more then a rip off of Slaughter High as both films do have a strikingly similar set up to them with the only difference being the fact that Slaughter High takes place in a high school where as here it's mainly just a random house and that's really it which fair enough is very creative for these types of films as alot of them just have the characters staying at what is basically a cabin in the woods or the house that belongs to someone related to the main character where as there they are just staying at this house just to get away from it all for the weekend. Even so tho this films plot does feel like a very by the book and very by the numbers slasher plot with there being nothing new added to it to make it seem interesting again and while the film does try to do something new by adding in a surprise second killer at the end of the film even that's not enough to make this films plot be anything more then average as all it does is remind you of much more better movies with the plot of this film not really being rather entertaining and nor is it really rather engaging either in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Cliff Dean as Will , Indira Starr as Bell , Doug Jeffery as Deputy Crews and Erin Marie Garrett as Honey. Also starring in this film is Mckenna Smith as Young Evie , Kace Winfield as Young Will, one of this films executive producers Derrick Redford as Sheriff Long , Hannah Hueston as Evie , Kinley Moody as Young Bell , Joplyn McDonald as Minnie-Winnie , Kennan Ainsworth as Young Honey and one of this films executive producers Tiffany McDonald as Minnie.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. While nobody expects good acting from these types of films the acting in this film is actually alot more better then what it really should have been as while yes this films acting is still pretty bad that was always going to be the case given the fact that's a very low budget horror film and therefore of course the acting in the film was always going to be bad as they mostly likely wouldn't have been able to afford to do a take two. With the films best actor being Indira Starr as Bell as she does come across as being the only actor that's actively trying to turn in a good performance with the rest of the films actors being content with just barely phoning in there performances. With the only other exception maybe being Tiffany McDonald as Minnie which even then it's debatable on if she's good in the movie due to the fact that she doesn't get to do a whole lot in the film despite her being the title character of the film and yet with Indira you can see that she is trying to turn in a good performances she really only needed better writing and actual direction from this films producer , writer and director Brett Bentman and she really would have been able to do exactly that. With the acting that's in this film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it doesn't give any of this films actors absolutely anything to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which is something that really does harm the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Character wise this film does fair somewhat better then alot of these other horror films do due to the fact that alot of the films characters have a single personality trait each. With both Will and Bell being the nice one of the group , Honey being the groups resident dumb one and Evie being the b*tch of the group with none of the characters straying to far from there given personality trait and while the fact that they do have a personality trait to begin with does make them ten times better then any of the characters from Harry Boxley it still doesn't make them that well done as characters as the film does nothing with it's characters. Due to the fact that the film doesn't doesn't take the time to show us why we should care about any of them as instead it keeps on showing us flashbacks which show that the group minus Will were all bullies to this one kid and all that does is make us hate them even more as they do act pretty mean to this kid and while yes it could be argued that they were only kids and therefore didn't know any better which is something that would be fair enough were it not for the fact that Evie still acts like a bully to this very day with her forcing her friends to do things that they don't want to do all for no good reason therefor why should we care for these characters as they clearly haven't grown up enough. Which does mean that we are just counting down the minuets until they all get killed off and when it does happen we don't find ourself cheering for the heroes and wanting them to survive rather we find ourself cheering for the villain when we should be routing for the characters and wanting to see them survive the film. With the only somewhat likable characters in the whole entire film being both Will and Bell and even then it's more due to the fact that Will was hesitant to take part in the bullying but there is something that happens to his character later on in the film which makes him unlikable and will be something that will be getting discussed in this review.


Every since The Mouse Trap came out it's oddly been a thing for people to turn Mickey Mouse into a horror villain. Yet alot of them this film included fail to take full advantage of that as while this film is being listed as being a horror comedy there's nothing funny said in the film at all in fact there's barely anything scary in this film whereas with The Mouse Trap you could at least make the point that it was the first Mickey Mouse themed horror film and therefor they were will still trying to work out what it is that they could do to make the fact that this famous mouse is now a slasher killer yet the only thing that they had to do was make it a full blown horror comedy. This was something that Screamboat actually got right as it knew right away that no one was going to be taking this film seriously and therefor it just went bulls to the wall with the amount of jokes that it was throwing at you with alot of that films jokes being about Disney itself and it's the fact that that film embraced the fact that it was a silly film with a silly idea that made it work so well in the first place and yet with this film they try and find a balance between both Screamboat and The Mouse Trap by having these moments that are meant to be funny when the characters are drunk and off set that with these more serious moments like when a grown up Bell and Will are talking about what happened twenty years ago and how it's still effecting them and yet it just doesn't work as this is a film that should be silly and that should be played for laughs as the very idea of having a beloved cartoon character be the main villain of the film is on it's self a very dumb idea and is not one that requires a super serious film in order for it to work. Whilst yes the Blood And Honey films are super serious films they also have alot of creative and fun kills that balance that out and yet in this film they don't do any of that as the makers of this film only made this film as quick cash grab and not because they wanted to make a genuinely good film.

To make matters for this film they do try to have a mystery over who the killer of the film is yet they outright tell us who it's going to be in the opening scene of the film. With the rest of the film being the characters wondering if the person that they left in this storm shelter yet has disappeared for two decades is the one killing them this is where the film felt more dumb as if you want to have a mystery over who the killer is then fine do that just give us clues as to who the killer is and don't show the main characters in a negative light in flashbacks or if you want to do something that's more akin to Slaughter High where the characters no full well who the killer is and try to appeal to them then fine do that just don't have a mystery. Yet this film tries do to both and it just doesn't work as we the audience know full well who the killer of the film and therefor we spend the entirety of the film ahead of the characters interms of what information that they no and all that does is take all the fun out of it as there is a good mystery to be had here and it is something that would have been good if the makers of the film hadn't had the literal opening scene of the movie after the opening credits out right tell us who the main killer of the film is as then we could have been wondering not only who it is but also what there motives are. With that being something that could have made the film have this rewatch value to it as then we would have a reason to keep on coming back to this film to see if there was any missed clues that would have told us who the killer of the film was and yet by trying to have it both ways where the killer is revealed early on but the characters don't know who it is all that does is make the characters seem even more dumb then what they already are in the first place.


This film does try to do something that not alot of these types of horror films have tried to do that being to have a surprise second villain. Which in of it itself is a really good idea as the film does make Will Minnie's helper in a surprise third act twist however the film never takes the time to explain not only why Will is helping to kill his friends of over twenty years but also how he managed to not only get Winnie as she was then known out of the shelter and also keep in touch with her for a large amount of time with none of this being helped by the fact that it does go against how Will was portrayed in the rest of the film as all throughout the rest of the film he written as the groups big brother and someone who would always want to protect his friends and yet just for the sake of having a twist ending the makers of this film have him turn on and kill Bell. With much like Winnie putting on a mouse mask and changing his name to Willie all of which does make this twist hard to buy into as all throughout the rest of the film we don't get to see ant hint of the fact that Will might not be as sane as he's letting on therefor it does seem out of place when they do pull of this twist whereas if the makers of this film did take the time to show us the fact that Will might be more insane then what he's letting on either with a glance or even by having him not be attacked by Minnie it would have been more then enough to let us know that there's something up with his character but in saying this tho having be attacked by Minnie is something that does do a good enough job of throwing us of the fact that there might be a second villain. However it's the small things that do make the big thanks not add up as they could have had him dress up as a mouse and kill some people in the film even if we didn't know that it was hi at that point in time.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and fifteen minuets and twenty three seconds. With this films running time being a huge issue for the film as while the film does have more then enough plot there to cover that amount of running time the film also takes up to the thirty to thirty eight minuet mark to give us it's first kill which if the film was closer to two hours maybe one hour and thirty minuets wouldn't be an issue yet given it's current running time they needed to start getting to the kills by at the most the ten minuet mark with the film not even using it's running time all that wisely either as the film doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot. As the film is alot more focused on giving us repeats of the same flashback over and over again when having it play once maybe two or three times would have bee more then enough yet the film plays parts of it at every single chance that it gets and all that does is eat up screen time that would have been better spent of further developing it's plot yet as they don't do that we are left with a plot that feels as one dimensional as it's characters. As the films characters as is to be expected in one of these horrors films don't get any kind of character development and given just how quickly that these films are made and released in that is something that's to be expected and to this films credit it's not really as bad with the lack of character development as the other films like this are as the film does try to have scene where the characters talk about what happened in the past the issue is tho is that none of that effects the rest of the plot with none of the characters clearly having learned nothing from what they did as kids which makes Will and Bell talking about it seem pointless but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a slasher film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought . felt that the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty OK at best. This film does commit the biggest sin that any slasher film could commit and that's the fact that not only do we have to wait an awfully long time to get to the first kill of the film but also when we do get to kills we barely get to see any of them as alot of them happen just off screen with the few that happen on screen being at best OK which does make it feel like that the makers of this film were to afraid to make a slasher film and therefore instead chose to d the absolute bare minimum when it comes to this films kills. At a push i'd say that the best kill in this film is when Minnie slices the ankles of Sheriff Long and then beats him to death but even then alot of that kill happens of screen and while that might be OK for a thriller of a psychological horror film as there your going more for the tension then anything else where as with a slasher film your going to see the kills and therefor we do want to see how the characters died and we want to see alot of the blows that killed them and yet the makers of this film thought that we dont want to see the films kills. Granted there might be a reason for why they didn't show us the kills in this film like maybe they just didn't have the money for the effects t make them to look good which s fair enough but at the same time they spend alot of time in showing us computer generate mice when we don't need to see them just take the money that was used to bring those mice to live and put it towards effects that would make the films kills look good that's all you'd have to do and that is something that would make this film alot more fun to watch in the process in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall no matter how bad this film is it's not even close to being as bad as The Mouse Trap was as that film was just awful and while there is a good chance that Betty's Revenge or any of the THREE Popeye's Revenge sequels that we're getting year might be bad one things for certain this film is a waste of a good idea as the idea of having Minnie Mouse be the main villain of a slasher film is a good idea it just needed  a better film making team to bring it to live is all in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very revie well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Tenor , Amazon . Co . Uk and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images from this film being Google Images simply because Google Images actually has images from this film really are up and on Google Images and plus pretty much much all of the images that I personally found on Google Images were all really very fairly high quality and as well as being as really very fairly high definition as well and so then horror fans we end this review as we always do with really our one and true goddess Elvira wishing us all some really very unpleasant dreams.

Wednesday, 18 March 2026

Ready Or Not Film Review



Sequels are a very common thing in the world of horror in face in the eighties it was all that seemed to get. Well we are now about a day or two before we get another horror sequel with the film promising to be as much as fun as what the film that i'm going to be talking to you all about today was as you all just know that I had to produce a tie in review for this film and what better film for that tie in to be then it's original film and so then join me as I review the film that makes playing hide and seek a deadly game with the film in question being called simply just "Ready Or Not" enjoy.

The plot of this film is the newly married Grace agrees to play a game of hide and seek with her new in laws however when the game turns deadly Grace finds herself in for the fight of her life. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. The films plot is one that is oddly refreshing as it's a story that really hasn't been told before now with this being something that the Radio Silence team do do with alot of there films outside of course of there two Scream movies with it being something that does help this film out quite as alot as outside of the premise of the film you have no idea where the film is going story wise which does mean that when the film does give you a plot twist it is something that does land as it's something that not only makes sense in the context of the film but it's also something that we the audience generally didn't see coming. While yes granted this films plot isn't the strongest plot out there which again is common thread with alot of the Radio Silence films in this case it really doesn't matter all that much as the premise is more then strong enough on it's own to support an entire film and with the film being as fun as it is you really don't notice the fact that it's plot isn't as strong as it perhaps could have been and while yes it would have helped the film out quite alot if it's plot was alot more stronger this is the kind of film that doesn't need to have a strong plot in it with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Samara Weaving as Grace ,Adam Brody as Daniel and Mark O'Brien as Alex. Also starring in this film is Henry Czerny as Tony , Andie MacDowell as Becky , Melanie Scrofano as Emilie , Kristian Bruun as Fitch , Elyse Levesque as Charity , Nicky Guadagni as Helene , John Ralston as Stevens , Liam McDonald as Georgie , Ethan Tavares as Gabe , Hanneke Talbot as Clara , Celine Tsai as Tina , Daniela Barbosa as Dora and Nat Faxon as the voice of Justin.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With alot of this films actors turning in some really good performances in this film which is something that's not all that surprising due to the fact that alot of this films actors are a bunch of really good actors in there own. Something which is made quite clear early on in the film is the fact that alot of this films actors are just having a blast making this film and it's that kind of energy that does allow them to turn in these really fun performances with this being no doubt due to the fact that this films directors Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett always try to have a more fun and relaxed set which does make it seem like that there making a movie with there friends with this kind of relaxed take to making a movie being something that does make the performances in this film all the more fun to watch. With the best actor in this film being Samara Weaving as Grace as even tho she really hasn't done that many horror films the ones that she has done has proven that Samara is a good horror actor and the fact that she's been able to branch out and turn in good performances in other none horror films does show you that she's a good actor in general with making Grace someone who could have been seen as being this very note character seem flawed and be a more fun character then what she very easily could have been. With the acting that's in this film really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Much like with the films acting and it's plot the films characters are also a bunch of really well done characters in there own right. As the films characters are not only really original characters but are also characters that are really well written on top of that as it would have been very easy for the makers of this film to just straight copy and pasts several characters from other horror movies and add nothing to them to make them feel unique and new again but the fact that they went that extra mile to make alot of the characters that your meant to hate not only oddly likable but also quite funny is something that does show you that the makers of this film know how to make good and entertaining characters. With a good example of this being the main family members themselves as it would have been very easy for them to make characters like Daniel and Charity by these really unlikable people and have them remain that way for the rest of the film yet they don't do that as instead they give them scenes where they are allowed to explore other sides of there personality with the same thing even true for the character of Emilie who at first is someone that we are meant to be believe is nothing more then this goofy character who makes alot of mistakes which is something that does make her entertaining but then she has a scene in the film where she says that she's only doing this game so that her children who are innocent can live which does show of the fact that she has mothering side to her that wants to protect her kids at all costs. Grace on the flip side of that is something that at first appears to be this fun loving person that is madly in love with Daniel and wants to be accepted by his family at all costs yet we see that she is a fighter who is willing to fight for what she wants which is something that does make her a strong character because of it.


The game that the characters play in the film is hide and seek which on paper might seem like an easy game to play. Yet this is also where the film does somewhat fall apart as the film doesn't take the time to explain why playing this one particular game is seen as being a bad thing with it seeming like that the family just wanted to kill someone and Grace was the first person that they thought of and yet if they did take the time to explain the rules of this game and why playing this one game in particular is meant to be a bad things for Grace as don't forget we don't know if the alot of the other games involve killing someone then it would have made the rest of the film be all the more tense as now we the audience are fully aware of the rules of the game much like Grace herself is. The film also doesn't take the time to explain why it has to be the bride that gets killed as that does seem like a pointless add on to the games rules as surely any passing person would have worked just fine and heck it might have worked even better if it was a random passing person as then the family could use there power and influence to make sure that the police arrest someone else for there crimes and yet if the film did take the time to tell us why it had to be Grace herself that dies be it something that's tied to there curse or not then it would have made the game be just that little bit more clearer as while it is still fairly easy to understand the game and why the family are playing it it's the small things that do take you out of it and remind you that your just watching a film when if the film did take to explain a few things about the game a bit more better then it i something that would have helped the film out all the more better. As they do explain why the ritual has to be completed before dawn as it would mean that they would die but that's really the only thing outside why the family is cursed to play these games in the first place that truly gets explained.

This is a film that very easily could have bee so bad due to the fact that at that time Radio Silence wasn't as well known as they are now. As they had only done short films at that point in time and therefor no one would have known what they could have done with a feature length running time and yet they manages to give us something that is a really entertaining film and while yes this film could have been alot more better in other places that is something that's also true for other films and the fact that they've managed to make alot of really good films after this film and gather quite the passionate fan base because of it is something that does go to show you that horror does need new faces and voices for it to thrive. As unlike Slanted which was just a redo of The Substance this film at least tried to say something new by commenting on how the rich and powerful belittle those beneath them as the family in this film do kill there own staff and yet they just dispose of them as if they were in the way of them having fun rather then treating them like normal human beings and not playing these types of games at all with the film going further into how badly the rich do generally treat poor people as the film has a rich person see that Grace is in danger but then willing ignore her pleads for help for no good reason. Whilst this is something that would get over done today here it's done to the point where that becomes the joke as it's done to that level of extreme where as if this film was made today I feel like the joke would be lost on people and it would be therefore played straight and they would treat as something to get made about on X.


Much like Slanted was a horror comedy this films is also a horror comedy however unlike Slanted this film not only has some actually funny jokes in it but it also has a good balance of horror and comedy with neither one overshadowing the over. Infact it very well could be argued that all of the films deaths are jokes in there own right right as all of the films main villains do get killed off in these really over the top and gory ways which again is done so far to the extreme that they become cartoonish and you can't help but to laugh at them with the best example of this being the character of Emilie as the film does give her somewhat of a running joke in the film as she always kills the wrong person thinking that's Grace which is a darkly funny joke with the film being filled to the brim with jokes like and heck it could be argued that how the whole family the kids included get killed of at the end is a funny joke as after failing to kill Grace the family start to think that there curse was nothing but a lie only for them to all be killed off exploding into thin air with blood going over where. With the film being filled to the brim with other darkly funny jokes that work well because of the fact that the film gives us this perfect balance between doing something that's funny and doing something that's scary with even the final line of the film being something is funny as well and yet if the film leaned to far into either horror or comedy then the film would have risked upsetting those that love the other genre and not being as good as it could have been as the film wouldn't be able to commit to being a comedy due to it having thee heavy horror elements in it and the film wouldn't be able to be scary due to the fact that it's telling a joke every few minuets.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirty five minuets and twenty two seconds. With this being pretty much the perfect running time for this film to have as the film doesn't need to have a long running time in order to tell it's story in a time that does it justice with the film having the right amount of plot there to cover that amount of running time as well. The film does also use it's running time wisely as the film does have a fully thought out and developed plot with the film giving us all of the plot information that we need early on in the film and then just letting the film run loose and be this fun film whilst also reminding us of the fact that the family have this very tight deadline in order to kill Grace before which was something that the makers of this films really didn't have do as this is the type of the film that would have gotten by on just being a fun film and yet as they took the tie to time to make this films plot appear more well thought out by giving the plot some backstory which yes is a small thing but it's a small thing that helps to make this films plot feel more well thought out. The same thing is also true for the films characters as all of the films characters are deeply flawed characters and while the characters don't have any flaws that they have to overcome what makes this films characters more developed then alot of other horror film characters is the fact that they all get the chance to display more then one side to there character be it Alex's love for his family or the fact that Grace is someone who knows how to defend herself all of this films characters are more developed then what they really should have been but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho. 


So now then as this is a horror film that really does mean that I gave to actually talk about the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. As while the film doesn't have a verity of kills as they all do boil down to one persona shooting the over it's the lead up to those kills that make them work so well and while yes it would have been nice if this film did have more of a verity of kills like for example one of the family members could have been killed with the crossbow with another being stabbed to death in this case it really doesn't matter as the kills that we do get in this film are fun kills to watch in the first place. With the best kill in the whole entire film being when all of the family gets killed of at the end as that gives us an idea of just how creative that the makers of this film could be as that kill is so over the top and is so fun to watch that it does become almost comical again with the fact that Grace says to Alex during that scene that she wants a divorce being something that is the cherry on top of the really bloody cake as it's the perfect way for a bunch of characters like this to be killed off as these villains are a bunch of over the top people and therefor having them all be killed in this over the top way is something that is oddly fitting for this film and when you take into account that the film takes a moment before unleashing the madness by having all of the characters believe that there curse is faked is something that does make that kill even better with the film having alot of other really good and fun kills in it as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall this film was so much more fun then what I remember it being as the film knows exactly what it is and isn't afraid of being nothing more then a dumb fun filled horror comedy and if the second film is anywhere near as good as this film is then we are in for a good ride with that film in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in his very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly an 8 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review  from Tenor , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images from this film being Google Images simply because Google Images actually has images from this film really are up and on Google Images and plus pretty much much all of the images that I personally found on Google Images were all really very fairly high quality and as well as being as really very fairly high definition as well and so then horror fans we end this review as we always do with really our one and true goddess Elvira wishing us all some really very unpleasant dreams.

Tuesday, 17 March 2026

Slanted Film Review



When The Substance came out it was all that alot of horror fans could talk about and while this reviewer missed that movie. There was denying the fact that it is a loved movie therefor when a movie with a shockingly similar premise came out you can bet that I was going to be right one that and check the film the very first chance that I got well i've seen the film and wow is it truly something and so then join me I review the film that is Mean Girls meets The Substance without the charm of both of them with the film in question being called simply just "Slanted" enjoy.

The plot of this film is Chinese-American teenager Joan Huang gets surgery to turn her skin white and change her voice in order to be popular. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With the films plot quite literally being a mixture of the plots of both The Substance and Mean Girls with this robbing the film of the chance to be it's own thing as no matter how good that this films plot could get at times it's always going to be compared to both of those films yet when the film does decide to do something that's unique to this film like the fact that they have surgery be this permanent thing akin to getting a tattoo for example that's when the plot gets to be interesting as then the film could have taken the chance to explore how Joan's rash decision effects not only herself but those around her. Yet the film doesn't do that as we barely get any scenes with her parents where they discuss how her choice affected them when that is something that would have been far more interesting then giving us a plot that just rips off a twenty two year old film as teenagers do be default make this dumb choices therefore it would have been interesting to see how those closest to Joan are affected by her choice with that being something that would have made the plot of the film be all that more interesting. The film itself doesn't even focused on that aspect of it's plot for all that long with it only being something that the film would occasionally cut back to with the film being more focused on letting us know if Joan will become prom queen when it should have been focusing on it's main plot alot more with the plot of this film really being really rather entertaining and as well as not really being really rather engaging either as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Starring in this film is Shirley Chen as Joan Huang , Mckenna Grace as Jo Hunt and Amelie Zilber as Olivia Hammond. Also starring in this film is Vivian Wu as Sofia Huang , Maitreyi Ramakrishnan as Brindha , Fang Du as Roger Huang , Nicholas Myers as Nash , R. Keith Harris as Willie Singer , Kristen Cui as Young Joan , Sarah Kopkin as Greta , Callie McClincy as Cat , Elaine Hendrix as Harmony , Jonathan D. Williams as Hank , Katy Wilson as Nancy , David Alexander as The Clarksville HS Vice Principal , Eric Lang as Dexter , Elizabeth Pan as Penny , Megan Hayes as Mrs. Pine , Sandra Lee-Oian Thomas as Mrs. Valentine and Destiny Danielle as Lola.

Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With this films acting being about as bad as you'd expect it would be as it's clear as day that none of this films actors have any idea of what it is there doing this is despite the fact that alot of them are really good actors and have been good in other film some as recently as this past month but even good actors still need good direction and it's clear that this film writer and director Amy Wang who is making her directorial debut with this film had no idea of how to direct her actors with this resulting in them coming across as being lost and unsure of what kind of performance to give when it's director should have been there to steer there performances in the right direction. With the best actor in this film being Mckenna Grace as she essentially has to play two different roles at the same time as she is both Joan and Jo with her having to copy what the great Shirley Chen did with Joan but make it different enough when she becomes Jo that it becomes more clear that these are essentially two completely different people which is something that must have been pretty hard to do and yet she does pull it off really well with the acting that's in this very film not really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so bad as it gives none of this film actors absolutely nothing to work with interms of what it is that there actual characters personalities are even meant to be in the first place which s something that really does help to hurt the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.


Character wise this film doesn't fair all that much better either as to put it bluntly there's nothing to these characters. As none of the films characters have anything about them that makes them interesting with them all not even feeling like characters that you'd expect to see in the first draft of a script as even those types of characters still have promise rather these are the characters that you think up before putting pen to paper. With all of the films characters being blank slates that the audience can then imagine is them which is something that would be fin if any of the films characters are even the slightest bit likable however none of them have any redeeming qualities as they all do things that make them unlikable characters and yet none of them display anything that would make them likable the same thing is even true for the films main character Joan who spends a good portion of the early part of the wanting to be popular but having absolutely zero personality and and even after she gets the procedure she then spends the rest of the film acting like the typical popular high school b*tch with her snapping at anyone who will put up with her this is something that wouldn't be a bad thing where it not for the fact that the film already has a character that fills in that role in Olivia who is a social media star and apparently has a TV show yet she can also go to school full time with none of those things being the slightest bit doable. With it therefore making it pointless to make Joan be the high school b*tch as not only did Mean Girls do that idea better they knew to make the main character likable before she turns into the villain where as here none of that happens therefore we can't feel anything for Joan because of the fact that the makers of this film haven't given us a reason to care about her character in the first place.


As was mentioned earlier on in this review film is basically just a redo of The Substance only it's now sprinkled in with elements of Mean Girls. Which makes it pointless as if you wanted to watch a film that's like he Substance then you could actually watch The Substance and not this lazy knock off and if you wanted to watch Mean Girls then you could actually watch the 2004 original Mean Girls as both of those films are better then this film as both of those films know to be good films first and everything else second and yet with this film it's clear as day that while the makers of this film were inspired by those films which is fair enough as while I can make no comment about The Substance I can say the original Mean Girls is a really good film it's clear as day that Amy Wang who wrote and directed this film had no idea about what it was that made both of those films work in the first place and therefore she just did what she thought made them work without actually bothering to watch either or both of those films in the first place as on paper a film like this one could have worked but it needed a writer and director who understood what it was that made the other two films work so well to make them work together in this film as then we could have gotten something that was truly special. Yet for one reason or another the makers of this film instead chose to do everything in half measures with this being something that does result in everything in this film feeling underbaked and like it was something that you'd expect a first draft to look like whereas if the makers of this film rewrote and reworked the script a few times to make this film as good as it could have been then we could have gotten something truly special.

Even tho this film has only just come out it's fair to say that this film is going to be massive flop for Bleecker Street and Fox Entertainment Studios. As this film is currently in NINETEENTH place at the box office and hasn't even made a million dollars baring in mind that this film came about four or five days ago and has some star power in it's actors with the film falling way behind the re-release of Kiki's Delivery Service and the re-release of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret Of The Ooze as well an Elvis concert film. The film even saw a massive drop of in it's second day with the film dropping a whopping -70% in earnings on Saturday and a further -29.3% on Sunday. This something that was pretty much all but always going to happen as typically horror comedies don't usually do that well at the box office and with this film focusing more on and then dropping it's comedy aspect all together it all but meant that this film was going to be a flop which is a shame as this is a film that if it was in the right hands could have been really good as the film does have a solid enough idea and good enough actors actors to pull it off an yet for one reason or another none of it came together hopefully Amy Wang will learn from this and take the lessons that she's hopefully learned on this film and apply them to her next film as this film is well directed i'm not going to deny that but the mish mash of tones doesn't help amongst with alot more things which due to how political that this review could come very quickly if there mentioned will not be getting covered in this review as even tho no one is going to see this film this review is something will always remain politics free.


There are maybe at a stretch two genuinely good things in this film the first of which is the make up effects by an unknown effects company. With the make up making Mckenna Grace's face look like it's sliding of her face in really gruesome ways which was something that was nice to see and even the film does put alot more focus on being a comedy that it does being a horror film when it does focus on being a good horror film that's when we get to see the potential of just how good that this film could have been due to the fact that it does feel like that this film was originally meant to be a horror at first but then was changed to be more of a horror comedy. Which isn't a bad thing as films like Elvira: Mistress Of The Dark and Shawn Of The Dead have proven that the two can be mixed together really well however there needs to be a fine balance between the two and when your horror film relies so much on tension you can't then have the characters make a joke as all that does is then break the tension thus forcing you to start over again. The make up in this film is something that does work really well with the films horror aspect as it does show us the audience just what the price is of getting this surgery done whilst also showing Jo that she will always be the one thing that she's trying to hide from being that being a Chinese-American with the films dropping make up leading to a really good scare at the end of the film which is something that will be discussed in this review but even the films good make up can't make up for how bad the rest of the film is as this is a film that does struggle with knowing what it is that it wants to be.

Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and thirty eight minuets and ten seconds. Which again to be fair to this film isn't a bad running time for this film to have as the film very easily could have done really well with that running time yet due to the fact that this film is a painfully slow burner it does mean that this film should have been a little bit longer as the film does have more then enough plot there to cover that amount of running time yet due to the fact that the film does take it's time in getting going by the time it does get going and it gets to the stuff that we actually want to see the film is almost over. The film also doesn't use it's running time all that wisely due to the fact that the film doesn't take the time to fully develop it's plot with this being due to the fact that the film is not only more interested in being a bad knock off of better films then it in being a good film in it's own right and yet if the film did take the time to give us a more well thought out plot then the film could have been really good with the same thing also effecting the films lack of character development as all of this films characters are te exact same when they end the film as they were when we started the film with the only one to somewhat grow as a character being Joan and even then it's debatable on if she grows as a character and if the film was a little bit longer even if its just by five or ten minuets and then that's screen time that would have been used in either giving this horror film some more actual horror or by giving both it plot and characters the much needed development that they need as you really can't afford to be a slow burner when you film is this short but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.


So now then as this is a horror film that really does mean that I have t actually talk about the actual horror that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual horror that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty not that bad. With this film having more of focus on being a comedy then it does in being a horror film which wouldn't be a bad thing where it not for the fact that the film drops its comedy aspect near the end of the film by which point it's far to late for the film to even try to build up tension as the film would have failed at being a horror film due to the fact that there's nothing all that scary in the film. With the best and only scary scene in the whole entire film being when Jo rips at her face peeling of huge chunks of her skin with her bleeding in some places just to reveal one of her old Asian eyes which is a good scene as it does show us just how much of mistake that Joan has made and how far that she's willing to go to correct it the issue is however is that not only is that the only scary scene in the whole entire film but it also happens right at the end of the film when it would have been all the more better if we got to see some of Jo's face literally falling of her during other scenes in the film as that would have given us some idea that something is not going right with the surgery and that Joan has done something that she will regret if it's not corrected and yet as this is a slow burner film that wants to be more of comedy then a horror film that does mean that we end up with a horror film that only really has really one creepy scene in it albeit one that's done really well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.


Overall it doesn't really need to be said but this film is pretty bad and is one that already is and should be avoided as while it is nice to have new voices in the world of horror those voices still need to be saying something good , new and original and sadly that's not what this film in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score of exactly a 4.5 out of 10 from me.

Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review ell then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Tenor , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images from this film being Google Images simply because Google Images actually has images from this film really are up and on Google Images and plus pretty much much all of the images that I personally found on Google Images were all really very fairly high quality and as well as being as really very fairly high definition as well and so then horror fans we end this review as we always do with really our one and true goddess Elvira wishing us all some really very unpleasant dreams.

Ready Or Not 2: Here I Come Film Review

Horror sequels much like regular sequels are very much a mixed bag as when they are done right we get films like Friday The 13th Part 2 but ...