Horror sequels much like regular sequels are very much a mixed bag as when they are done right we get films like Friday The 13th Part 2 but when there done wrong we get films like Scream 3. As a sequel has to find a way to progress the story of the first film but do so in a new and interesting way and well we have another new horror sequel out and while most horror films only get a sequel if their a mainstream success this film is actually a sequel to a film that is borderline a cult hit film and so then join me as I review the film that quite literally tells you it's coming for you with the film in question being called simply just "Ready Or Not 2: Here I Come" enjoy.
The plot of this film is right after te events of the first film Grace now joined by her relucent sister Faith finds herself a new game of hide and seek and has to survive as several dozen people now want her and her sister dead. Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual plot that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. With the films plot doing everything that a good sequel plot should do in that it not only advances the plot of the previous film but it also ups the stakes to the point where it justifies this sequel being made as just by going off the end of the first film it would have been very easy to write this franchise off as being a one and done and yet the makers of this film found a way to continue Grace's story in a way that feels natural. However tho this films plot does feel like it's on repeat mode alot of the time tho due to the fact that it does feel like it's just copying elements from the first film like for example both films have Grace where her wedding dress which made sense in the first film as the film was set directly after her wedding and yet here she wears it for no good reason and heck the characters even play the exact same game when it would have been more fun and interesting to see them do a twist on another kids game. While on the flip side of this is the fact that the films plot is so good due to the face that the original films writers came back with them brining the same flair that they brought to the first film with the plot of this film also being really rather entertaining and as well as being really rather engaging as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.
Starring in this film is one of this films executive producers Samara Weaving as Grace MacCaullay and Kathryn Newton as Faith MacCaullay. Also starring in this film is Sarah Michelle Gellar as Ursula Danforth , Shawn Hatosy as Titus Danforth , Elijah Wood as The Lawyer , Néstor Carbonell as Ignacio El Caido , Kevin Durand as Bill Wilkinson , Olivia Cheng as Wan Chen Xing , Varun Saranga as Madhu Rajan , Nadeem Umar-Khitab as Viraj Rajan , Juan Pablo Romero as Felipe El Caido , Masa Lizdek as Martina Rajan , Maia Jae as Francesca El Caido , Dan Beirne as Kip Danforth , Antony Hall as Wan Cheng Fu , one of this films producers James Vanderbilt as Mr. Le Bail and David Cronenberg as Chester Danforth.
Now then interms of what I personally thought / felt about the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual acting that's actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. The films acting in this film is really good and as is more then on par with the acting that we got in the first film with this mainly due to the fact that we have a bunch of really good actors in this film alot of whom have been really good in other films all of which is helped by the fact that this films directors Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett really do know not only how to cast good actors for there films but also how to direct them to get these good performances out of them in the first place which is a skill that so few directors seem to have these days. With the best actor in the whole entire film being Samara Weaving as Grace MacCaullay as not only is she the only returning actor from the previous film but she also does alot of the heavy lifting for the film from an acting point of view with alot of the scenes between her and Kathryn Newton being made slightly better due to the fact that she has played Grace before now and therefor does have this better understanding of the character then what any of the fans of the first film will have and therefore she is able to give a performance that does suit her character down to the ground. With the acting that's in this very film really being helped by the fact that this films script is just so good that all this films actors have to do is just say the lines as they are written and a good performance will come out of them naturally which is something that really does help to raise the overall quality of the acting that's in this very film.
Much like with the first film this film does have some really good and well written characters in it with them all coming across as being fully formed characters. With Grace kind of feeling the same as she id did in the first film as for understandable reasons she's not as fun loving as she was in the first film with her now taking a more proactive role in the game which is something that does make alot of sense as out of herself and Faith she is the only one that's played a game like this before now and therefore she would no exactly what to do in this kind of situation and to the films credit she is handled really well as while she does retain her snarkyness from the first film there's also a hint of trauma in there as well. Even the films newer characters do feel partly well done with Faith being a character that hasn't seen Grace for many years and therefore doesn't want to follow her advice which is something that does make her a somewhat naive character however tho where film does somewhat start to faulter is with the family members as alot of them do feel like carbon copies of the family members from the first film with Ursula being Charity and Titus good as well as being Daniel mixed in with Emilie as both he and Ursula are brother and sister with her being the brains of the operation and him being the lovable somewhat dumb but also crazy psycho one of the two which I guess makes him an interesting character but at the same time tho the film doesn't really do all that much with either character to make them feel justified and the rest of the other family members are just there to be killed off as they add nothing to the plot of the film say what you will about the housing staff in the first film but they at least added small little things to the plot of that film whereas here nothing is added with the rest of the family members.
Without giving away to much of what happens in this film this film does introduce a clause where the game is stopped and Grace gets declared the winner if she marries someone. Which would be a good idea where it not for the fact that the whole opening of the first film revolved around her marrying someone therefor by the game's own rules that entire first film shouldn't have happened granted the makers of this film wouldn't have thought of that when they were making the first film but it is something that should have been taken into account when they were making this film as by adding in that one clause they've made the entire first film pointless as now we the audience are now left wondering why the first film even happened in the first place. Granted this isn't a major issue with the film as the plot of the first film or this film for that matter isn't that much effected by that rule now being added to the lore but it is something that makes you wonder why the game in the first film was even played in the first place as they never say that this clause is just for hide and seek or is just for this game which would have been a great workaround as then you could argue that all of the games have their own sets of rules to them which would have been fair enough and it would have made this small continuity issue go away and yet they don't do that. With this being something that makes it obvious that the rule was only now said to us because of the fact that it sets up something else for later on in the film which again is fair enough but you don't need to tear down your own previous film in order to do that as they could have found a really creative way for them to have that rule in the first film and not have it effect the first film at all.
Like the first film ultimately ended up doing this film is being a modest hit at the box office as even tho this film cost around $14 million to make it has so far earned $14.5 million dollars. Which given that the first film earned around $57.6 million on a budget of $6 million dollars isn't a bad thing as these films much like alot of horror films aren't huge money makers with this being something that people on X just can't wrap there heads around as there thinking that this film should be making Scream 7 levels of money just based on the fact that the directors of Scream 5 and Scream VI are making this film when all you have to do is look at the numbers for the first film and compare them to this film to see that these Ready Or Not films as good as they are aren't the type of films that make big money at the box office yet this film as of this Wednesday is actually placing higher the Scream 7. Also like the first film this film does have a good balance between horror and comedy with the film knowing when it should be scary with the film having alot of painfully funny jokes like for example Grace always corrects people when they say that her last name is Le Domas even when she's gagged which is really funny and yet there's a joke that's even better then that as there is scene near the end of the films second act and the song that they play over it is "Total Eclipse Of The Heart" and how they edit that scene with that song just makes the whole thing even more funnier and heck while people will be tempted to say that the ending scene is the most fun scene in the film for me it's easily this scene just due to how well done it is with that song playing over it.
Much like alot of Radio Silence's film there is something truly emotional at the core of this film which in this case is the sisterly bon between Grace and Faith. Whilst it would be impossible to go that much into this part of the film without giving away major spoilers what can be said is that while it does feel very much like a retread of the Sam and Tara arc from Scream 5 here there is enough of a twist put on it to make it seem new and to the films credit they do use that part of the film to fully explain why Faith wasn't even mentioned in the first film which is something that they really didn't have to do but the fact that it was included in this way is something that does show you that the makers of this film do fully respect there audience. However tho it would have been nice if we got to see more of Faith and Grace learning to trust each other once again as all throughout the film Faith does almost fully trust Grace and while we the audience do understand what Grave has been through due to the first film from a character standpoint Faith hasn't done any of that and therefor it would have made there journey be all the more interesting if we saw Faith openly fight with Grace during the game as that is something that realistically her character would indeed do and yet she doesn't do and instead just blindly trusts Grace. OK fair enough Grace is her sister and therefore she will of course always trust her on some level but given the fact that there arc for the film is getting over something that Grace did to her in there past it doesn't totally make sense for her to be this trusting of Grace however the scenes where they are playfully arguing with each other does make there bond seem all the more real and it wouldn't be that surprising if both Samara and Kathryn ended up being good friends after making this film as they do seem like they had a good time with each other.
Now then this film has / had an exact grand total running time of exactly one hour and forty three minuets and fifty seconds. Which to be fair is decent enough running time for this film to have and given the fact that the first film did have a pretty similar running time as well it does say that these films can work with that short amount of running time and heck this film does have more then enough plot to cover that amount of running time with the film not really using it's running time all that wisely due to the fact that the film doesn't make the time to fully develop it's plot as the film seems to be more focused on not only added rules to the game but also in getting all of the other characters involved in the game then it is in giving us a more fully developed plot. This is something that does kind of effect the films character development as while both Grace and Faith and a much more lesser extent Ursula not one of this films characters get any kind of character developed with this being something that does make them feel like one dimensional characters and while the family members in the first film aren't that well developed either it could be argued that that was only done due to the fact that the makers of the film were still trying to wok out how to include the game to it's fullest extent and therefor they had to cut corners somewhere in the film and yet here they already know how to do that and yet they still don't take the time to give alot of the characters some character development even Grace who it could argued doesn't need character development due to being the main character of the first film still manages to get some in this film but I really will admit that this film really does have some really good pacing to it tho.
So now then as this is a horror film that really does mean that I have to actually talk about the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film well then in all honesty I in all honesty personally thought / felt that the actual kills that are actually featured / presented to us in this very film was in all honesty really good. If you thought that the film wouldn't be able to top all of the crazy and insane kills that they did in the first film then be pared to be let down down as they do more then match the kills that they did in the film with this film giving us alot of really creative and at time gut bustingly funny ways all of which do make this films kills more then worth watching on there own as this is the only franchise where we do get to see these kinds of fun and funny kills. With the best kill in the whole entire film not being one that's going to be getting spoiled but all that I will say is that it happens in a pit during the films third act and if you've seen the film you'll know exactly what kill it is that i'm talking about as that kill is just so much fun to see with it giving us all of the shocks and gore that these films are known for having whilst at the same time kind of securing that there can't be a third film yet the rest of the film does have some really good kills with the films main golf course setting pretty much saying that the characters can die at any time and while the film doesn't take full advantage of that it does show you just how the makers of this film are more then willing to up the stakes with the only good kill technically on the golf course being being when Grace shots someone at point blank range with a shotgun with the rest of the films kills being just as fun and as over the top as well in my freaking opinions anyways / at least.
Overall while it is hard to say just which of these two films that people will like more as both of them do have alot of things both going for and working against them what can be said tho is that this film more then deservers all of the praise that it's been getting as it is just that good of a film in my freaking opinions anyways / at least. Now then i've talked about all of the good and as well as all of the bad things that are in this very film in this very review and as such that really does mean that this very film really does earn itself a grand old score exactly a 7.5 out of 10 from me.
Now then as for where I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review well then boys and girls and as well as ladies and gentlemen I personally got all of the images that I personally used in this very review from Tenor , IMP Awards . Com and Google Images. With my personally preferred website to use to get images from this film being Google Images simply because Google Images actually has images from this film really are up and on Google Images and plus pretty much much all of the images that I personally found on Google Images were all really very fairly high quality and as well as being as really very fairly high definition as well and so then horror fans we end this review as we always do with really our one and true goddess Elvira wishing us all some really very unpleasant dreams.









No comments:
Post a Comment